University Advancement Centre

Professor Afolabi Akintunde AKINDAHUNSI

A Nutritional Biochemist/Toxicologist, Prof. Afolabi Akintunde Akindahunsi graduated B.Sc (Second Class Upper) (Biochemistry), M.Sc (Biochemistry) and Ph. D (Applied Chemistry) from Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife in 1980, 1986 and 1992, respectively.

After his NYSC assignment in 1981, and working experience as a Quality Control Assistant Manager with Lever Brothers, Lagos (1981–1984), he became an Assistant Lecturer in Biochemistry in 1989 at the Federal University of Technology, Akure (FUTA) and was promoted to Professor in 2004.

He has received several awards which include Post-Doctoral Fellowship (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel), Regular Associate, Senior Associate, and TRIL (Abdus Salam-International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy), Visiting Professorship (Chinese Academy of Sciences), Nigerian National Universities Commission (NUC) Best Researcher of the Year (2005), and FUTA Best Researcher of the Year Award (2006). He has supervised more than twenty PhD and ninety Master theses and has more than one hundred and fifty publications in reputable National and International Journals to his credit.

In addition to membership/chairman of several Committees in the University, he is a member of the University Governing Council (May 2014 to Date), Acting Head/Head of Department of Biochemistry at different times, Chairman of the Prof. Julius Okojie Central Research Laboratory (Sept 2013 to July 2014), Ag Dean, School of Postgraduate Studies (August to Sept 2014), Director, International Office (Oct 2014 to May 2017) and presently Director, Advancement Centre (Aug 2017 to Date)